Women’s History in the Library

My last post discussed an author that has inspired a lot of controversy the past few weeks. Unfortunately, this is continuing to overshadow other issues as the arguments have spiraled out of control (see: politicians doing poor Green Eggs and Ham read alouds). One thing I’ve noticed that is overshadowed by this is great Women’s History Month content, so I thought I could rebound with some positivity in that department.

In addition to the petty arguments inspiring this post, I’ve also just been more purposeful with my content selection this school year. Students still aren’t able to check out books so I want to make sure I’m sharing impactful stories with them weekly. This includes books that highlight cool human beings that my students can look up to and learn about. Women’s History Month is the perfect time to highlight some cool human beings.

While briefly sharing some of the more well known female figures, I did try to shine a light on some lesser known people. Being one of only two PoC staff in my school, I know my students need diversity exposure wherever they can get it! That’s where these cool books come in:

Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré

Image from IG: jeanellnicolereads

My first story is my mirror book: a Latina librarian! My students definitely noticed when I shared this book with them, which I think captured their interest even more. Planting Stories by Anika Aldamuy Denise is about Pura Belpré, a well known figure in library circles but someone entirely new to my school. Denise shows Belpré’s transition from life in Puerto Rico to a new life and career in New York. A great blend of Spanish and English throughout provides a mini-Spanish lesson to students as well. The Spanish sections are chosen well, as most students can use context clues to figure out the meaning.

This book is also funnily enough a Pura Belpré Award winning book, which can be used to discuss different book awards.

What really captured my heart was Paola Escobar’s illustrations. Every class loved the imagery in this book, kindergarten through fifth. I couldn’t recommend it more!

Queen of Physics: How Wu Chien Shiung Helped Unlock the Secrets of the Atom

Image from Book Tastings author: katnye

Our next book showcases another amazing lady who may not be known in my school, but should be. Queen of Physics: How Wu Chien Shiung Helped Unlock the Secrets of the Atom by Teresa Robeson tells the story of a Chinese-American physicist. What sets this book apart is it not only tells of our astounding achievements in her field, it also tells of the obstacles she faced along the way. The obstacles? Racism and sexism from her colleagues and society.

This is another award winning book, awarded with the ALA Asian/Pacific American Awards for Literature in the Picture Book category. The storytelling by Robeson is almost lyrical, and the illustrations by Rebecca Huang match that poetic energy.

Harlem’s Little Blackbird: The Story of Florence Mills

I know I’m a sucker for illustrations, but can you believe how beautiful this book is?! Illustrator Christian Robinson is a Caldecott winner, so I can’t be surprised. The story has a mixed-media approach that makes the reader feel nostalgic for something I still can’t quite put my finger on, but I’m not complaining.

Harlem’s Little Blackbird by Reneé Watson tells Florence Mills’ story from singing with her mother to her eventual career as a singer and dancer. Not only is this a great biography, this book could serve as a love letter to yourself. The joy and confidence we see from Florence in this book is something beautiful that all readers could be inspired by; her courage and fight furthers that.

She Loved Baseball: The Effa Manley Story

Image from Allaire Village

Now I’ve never been a big sports fan, but I know I have plenty of girls who are and this is the type of story that would inspire anybody. Effa Manley is the only woman to date to be inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame. She Loved Baseball by Audrey Vernick jumps right into the racism and colorism of its time; I appreciate when children’s books respect its readers and don’t sugarcoat the facts. Vernick keeps this realness throughout, perfectly capturing Effa Manley’s drive to do what’s right and what she loves.

Don Tate’s expressive, colorful illustrations perfectly suits Effa’s strong will and her journey.

These books can carry me through the rest of the month, but I’m still always looking for more books to share with my students that showcase what people can accomplish, especially people just like them. What books would you add to your Women’s History Month lineup?

2 Comments on Women’s History in the Library

  1. Teresa Robeson
    March 15, 2021 at 10:44 am (3 years ago)

    Thank you for showcasing Queen of Physics with those other wonderful books! I adore Anika and am glad her beautiful book gets so much attention. We definitely need more books about BIPOC in schools.

    Reply
  2. Kimberly McFall
    March 27, 2021 at 9:36 am (3 years ago)

    This is such an excellent post! You have quite a knack for this type of writing — I hope that you keep up the blog moving forward 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply